

Summary of Award Winners

<u>Clarence L McEachern Hall of Fame:</u> Awarded to an OD or other optometrically involved individual who has a long and distinguished career of service and dedication to the profession and the advancement of its causes.

Past recipients include: Clarence McEachern Wayne Cannon Bill Oliver Ned Hobbs Henry Sawyer, Sr.

Bill Payne Paul Burrell William Ezell Strom Thurmond Scarborough

Joe Jenkins Marvin Efron – 2008 Harold Bell – 2009 Bud Antley – 2010 James Vaught – 2011 Robert Lopanik – 2013 Bill Spearman – 2014 Neil Draisin - 2016 Kenneth Nash – 2017 Lonnie Randolph - 2017

Optometrist of the Year: The award of Optometrist of the Year is not always an annual event. It is given to the SCOA member who has provided outstanding public service, service to the general welfare of the public, service to optometry and service to the AOA and/or its affiliates. **Past recipients include**

Wayne Cannon Clarence McEachern Bill Oliver Ned Hobbs Paul Burrell

Jim Lyday William Ezell Bill Tucker Bill McCurdy Bob Lopanik - 1998 James Vaught Lonnie Randolph Walt Mayo Vaughn Parfitt Peter Candela – 2008 Neil Draisin – 2011 Philip Flynn – 2013 Wayne Cannon – 2015 Deborah Long - 2016

Distinguished Service Award: Normally awarded to that member or individual whose dedication to a particular project either optometrically, community or service oriented, has brought distinction and success to the profession. (Not awarded in 2008)

Past recipients include James Vaught Neal Williams Walt Mayo (twice) Rob Sieffert (twice) Vaughn Parfitt Tim Burrell

Jim Dunn Lonnie Randolph Neal Williams Alva Pack Tim Stafford Jack Frasher

Deborah Long – 2005 Jennie Smith – 2009 Philip Flynn – 2010 Tom MacMillan – 2011 Rhett Richardson – 2011 Philip Flynn - 2012

Greg Bailey – 2013 Vince Ford – 2013 Nikki Haley - 2014

Young OD of the Year: Candidate must have exhibited exemplary involvement in the following: service to Optometry, service to the visual welfare of the public, public service within ten years of graduation from optometry school.

Past recipients include: Cynthia Wike Michelle Reeves Steve Wearden - 2006

Melissa S. Wood – 2008 Lori Roberts Donovan – 2009 Philip Flynn – 2011 Jennie Zolman – 2012 Mike Zolman – 2014 Jamie Hill – 2015 Johndra McNeely - 2016

Optometric Horizon Award: Candidate must have exhibited initiative and involvement in SCOA and community within five years of

graduation from optometry school. **Past recipients include:** Steve Brzytwa Buck Buchanan Michelle Spittler Steve Wearden

Katie Mason Philip Flynn Keith Jones Lori Roberts Donovan - 2006 Jennie Smith – 2008 Mike Zolman – 2010 Nicole Psaltis – 2011 Johndra McNeely – 2012 Katie Davis – 2016 Justine O'Dell - 2017

Tim Burrell Legislative Award: The Tim Burrell award is awarded to an optometrist that has shown exemplary volunteer service in the area of grassroots politics involving the SCOPA and SC government.

Past recipients include: Lori Roberts Hauser- 2008

James Vaught – 2008 James Vaught – 2009 Ted Newman - 2010 Philip Flynn – 2012 Wayne Cannon – 2014 Philip Flynn – 2016 Mike Zolman - 2016 Johndra McNeely - 2017

Paraoptometric of the Year Award: presented to an optometric assistant or technician in SC who has made the most outstanding and worthwhile contribution to the profession of optometry, paraoptometry and the general public. (*Started in 2012*) Bridget Bessinger (2012), Caroline Riggins (2014), Jeffrey "Todd" Gary (2015), Curtis Turner (2016).